Beauty Favorites // Winter Skin

img_1463

Even with my oily skin, I still have to have backup during the Winter months to combat dryness.  I don’t need any heavy creams or moisturizers and my facial skincare doesn’t change even when the heat has to be turned on.  However, I definitely battle dryness on my lips, arms, legs, and hands (especially my hands because my job requires lots of hand washing).

I have three products right now that are real skin savers for me during the colder months.  For my legs and arms, I like to slather on Paula’s Choice Resist Skin Revealing Body Lotion With 10% AHA at least once a week.  The alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) gently exfoliates any flakes or dead skin that make my legs look ashy or my arms feel tight.  This lotion can be used daily if needed, but I usually just use my regular body lotion the rest of the week.  This lotion has a slightly sour smell to it from the AHA, so I only use this when I don’t have plans to go out for anything.  Using only unscented body wash also keeps my skin from becoming itchy or tight.

I have a tube Aquaphor Lip Repair in my makeup bag and in my purse to protect against chapped lips.  This lip moisturizer is effective without being heavy or waxy and even though it is light, like a gloss, it doesn’t make my lips shiny or sticky.  It is pure comfort for my lips and I’m so glad I found it.  It’s great for smoothing on before lip color too so that it goes on smoothly.

My hands need extra care and get flaky and dry quickly if I don’t make sure to care for them often.  Because of this, I also have several tubes of Neutrogena Fast Absorbing Hand Cream stashed around the apartment and in my purse.  This lotion feels rich but doesn’t leave a greasy residue on my hands.  It quickly absorbs and leaves my hands looking fresh as though I haven’t washed them 80 times that day.  It also doesn’t have a strong scent so it won’t make people around me choke on the fragrance every time I put it on.

Have you tried any of these products?  What are your Winter skin favorites?  

Leave a Reply

